Belmont School Educational Trust Ltd is overseen by a Board of Governors comprising men and women who work hard for the school in a pro bono capacity in order to ensure that the school is managed effectively to provide outstanding education for all its pupils.  Every governor serves on at least one sub-committee, and takes responsibility for a particular aspect of governance, acting as a conduit between the School and the full Board.  The sub-committees cover the following areas of governance:

  • Estates, Health and Safety
  • Education
  • Finance and Audit
  • Legal and Compliance
  • Marketing and Admissions
  • Nominations and Remuneration
  • Safeguarding

Prudent investment in the school's facilities provides the pupils with a wealth of opportunity.  All teaching areas are bright and well equipped with fully interactive classrooms and we have wireless and networked technology across the site. Bright displays and creative resources create a vibrant learning environment, whilst facilities for art and design, music, drama, sport, forest school and a wide range of extra-curricular opportunities provide both for personal challenge and to nurture a passion for service towards others.

Nick Butcher

Nick Butcher is the Chair of Governors.  He is a passionate leader and has overseen the transformation of the school in recent years.  Nick has brought high level management structures to the Board yet couples this expertise with the empathy and understanding of a man who has educated four sons in the independent sector. 

The Chairman may be contacted on

Tania Botting

Tania Botting is the Safeguarding Governor.  She is Headmistress of Greenfield School in Woking and serves the Belmont Board as Chair of the Safeguarding Committee.  Mrs Botting is a team inspector and a compliance inspector for the Independent Schools Inspectorate and has served as Vice Chairman of the Independent Association of Preparatory Schools.  She brings a wealth of experience to the Board from the world of education.

The Safeguarding governor may be contacted on

Taryn Timperlake 

Sarah Mackenzie-Ross

Andrew Baker

Tonya Fitzpatrick-Wheals

Haidee Priday

James Turnbull

Richard Britton